Report of the Chair

Scrutiny Programme Committee – 8 August 2016

MEMBERSHIP OF SCRUTINY PANELS AND WORKING GROUPS

Purpose	The Scrutiny Programme Committee is responsible for appointing members and conveners to the various scrutiny panels / working groups that are established. This report advises of relevant matters that need to be considered.
Content	This report is provided to facilitate any changes that need to be made.
Councillors are being asked to	agree any membership changes of Panels and Working Groups necessary
Lead Councillor(s)	Councillor Mary Jones, Chair of the Scrutiny Programme Committee
Lead Officer & Report Author	Brij Madahar, Scrutiny Coordinator Tel: 01792 637257 E-mail: brij.madahar@swansea.gov.uk

1. Introduction

1.1 The Scrutiny Programme Committee is responsible for appointing members and conveners to the various scrutiny panels / working groups that are established.

2. Proposed Revision to Current Scrutiny Panel / Working Group Membership

2.1 Tackling Poverty Scrutiny Inquiry Panel

ADD Councillor Hazel Morris. The revised membership of this Panel will be 14:

Councillors:

Labour Councillors: 9

June Burtonshaw	David Phillips
Sybil Crouch (CONVENER)	Gloria Tanner
Joe Hale	Yvonne Jardine
Andrew Jones	Mike White
Hazel Morris	

Liberal	Democrat	Councillors:	3
---------	-----------------	--------------	---

Liberal Delliocial Councillors. 5	
Mike Day	Jeff Jones

Chris Holley	
Independent Councillor: 2	
Lynda James	Susan Jones

3. Membership of Proposed New Panel / Working Groups

3.1 Following agreement of new work expressions of interest were sought for proposed inquiries into Partnerships & Collaboration and Preparedness for School, and a Working Group looking at Planning & Section 106 Agreements. The interest from scrutiny councillors is reported for agreement:

a) Partnerships & Collaboration Inquiry (10):

Labour Councillors: 6

June Burtonshaw	Hazel Morris
Mandy Evans	Geraint Owens
Joe Hale	Ceinwen Thomas

Liberal Democrat Councillors: 1

Chris Holley	

Independent Councillor: 2

David Cole	Susan Jones
------------	-------------

Conservative Councillor: 1

rony Colbum

Cllr June Burtonshaw and Hazel Morris have expressed interest in acting as convener.

b) Preparedness for School Inquiry (8):

Labour Councillors: 5

Sybil Crouch	Elliot King
Jan Curtice	Hazel Morris
Fiona Gordon	

Liberal Democrat Councillors: 2

Mike Day	Mary Jones
----------	------------

Independent Councillor: 1

Wendy Fitzgerald	
------------------	--

Conservative Councillor: 0

Concontanto Councilion C		
	l	

Cllr Mike Day and Hazel Morris have expressed interest in acting as convener.

c) Planning & Section 106 Agreements Working Group (14):

Labour Councillors: 5

Jan Curtice	Yvonne Jardine
Phillip Downing	Gloria Tanner
Terry Hennegan	

Liberal Democrat Councillors: 2

Chris Holley (convener) Mary Jones

Independent Councillor: 4

David Cole	Lynda James
Wendy Fitzgerald	Keith Marsh

Conservative Councillor: 3

Tony Colburn	Lynda Tyler-Lloyd
Miles Thomas	

3.2 The committee should consider whether there are any other changes that need to be made in respect of scrutiny panel and working group membership.

4. Legal Implications

4.1 There are no specific legal implications raised by this report.

5. Financial Implications

5.1 There are no specific financial implications raised by this report.

Background Papers: None

Legal Officer: Wendy Parkin Finance Officer: Carl Billingsley